You know cookies are reasonably healthy when the recipe calls for flax meal and apple sauce. I’ve not had a chance to do very much gluten free baking. I have been experimenting a bit with different flours and recipes. After the Farmer’s Market last week, I realized that it would be a good idea to try to incorporate more gluten free and vegan recipes in my repertoire, given that everyone loves cookies, and dietary restrictions make it tougher to get tasty baked eats.

I decided to use a recipe from the Babycakes cookbook to test run my first gluten free cookies. They are in the oven now, and they smell great. Babycakes is a NYC-based bakery. On one of my last trips to the Big Apple, I dragged my best pal Trish to sample some gluten free cupcakes – she did not appreciate the little adventure that took us away from our Soho shopping. I liked the cupcake I sampled, so I thought I’d give the cookbook a go.

Stay tuned for a recipe, if my taste testers approve these cookies tomorrow.

