Alright folks, the Double Chocolate Chip Cookies got the thumbs up from a few taste testers (read: my coworkers). This recipe is from  Babycakes, a vegan, gluten-free bakery based in NYC. They’ve just released their second cookbook, which is no doubt, worth investigating.

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut oil (I used about 3/4 cup)

1 1/4 cup evaporate cane juice (I used gluten-free organic crystal sugar)

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All Purpose Baking Flour

1/4 cup flax meal

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I used regular in my recipe)

Preheat oven to 325, and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

When baking with coconut oil, melt it down first. Mix together oil, evaporated can juice, applesauce, cocoa powder, salt and vanilla. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, flax meal, baking soda and xanthan gum. Using a rubber spatula, add dry ingredients to the wet mixture and combine until a dough is formed. Gently fold in the chocolate chips. Scoop the dough onto the baking sheets, spacing the cookies about 1″ apart (they will spread). Flatten the dough with your palm. Bake the cookies for 14 minutes. The finished cookies will be crisp on the edges and soft in the center. Let the cookies stand on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Happy baking! Let me know how it turns out. Next up, I’ll try carrot cupcakes. I’ll keep you posted.

