This morning I realized how much I miss posting about my adventures in baking. I think the macarons derailed me – I still haven’t mastered them – and briefly had to give up trying. This summer, I had the good fortune to be able to make my fabulous gal pal Adrienne and her lovely husband a wedding cake. Adrienne is a super fun and crafty gal. She saw an image of a Rice Krispie cake on a DIY wedding blog and sent it my way. I knew that I had to make it happen for her. I looked at various recipes for Rice Krispie squares – the key here was to be able to make sure that the ‘cake’ would still have a gooey marshmallow consistency on the wedding day, so I had to make the cake the night before. I armed myself with spring form pans and ample amounts of the key ingredients: Rice Krispies, butter, and marshmallows. I threw in a little sea salt too, inspired by Smitten Kitchen.

 

Rice Krispie Cake

Per tier:

1/2 pound (or 2 sticks) unsalted butter, plus extra for the pan

2 10-ounce bags marshmallows

3/4 teaspoon coarse sea salt

12 cups Rice Krispies cereal

Butter (or coat with non-stick spray) an 8-inch square cake pan with 2-inch sides.

In a large pot, melt butter over medium-low heat.

As soon as the butter is melted, turn the heat off and stir in the marshmallows. The residual heat from the melted butter should be enough to melt them, but if it is not, turn it back on low until the marshmallows are smooth.

Remove the pot from the stove and stir in the salt and cereal together. Quickly spread into prepared spring form pan. Use a spatula to press the mixture into the pan.

Let cool, and remove from spring form pan.

Repeat for each tier.

Next up, stack those tiers and try and anchor them together. I used chopsticks – this was likely not the most finished looking option. You can use ribbon to decorate – it will adhere to the marshmallows and stay in place.  Have fun!!

Adrienne and Brian had a beautiful wedding, full of DIY touches. It was the perfect day. I was so happy to be part of the day. Adrienne asked baker extraordinaire Carol to make cupcakes, and WOW! The cupcakes are pictured above – they were super cute! Carol made loads of cupcakes that looked like mini buckets of popcorn. Amazing!! I was honoured to share a dessert table with her.

Sending Ace + Brian loads of love and good wishes.

 

